The 5 Love Languages: Receiving Gifts

Receiving Gifts is one of the five “love languages” identified by Dr. Gary Chapman in his book, The Five Love Languages. Learning the love languages is beneficial for everyone. It helps prevent arguments, improve romance, and foster a deep love and lasting connection between partners. These five languages reveal the way a person feels most loved in a romantic relationship. 

This article aims to help you better understand the love language of Receiving Gifts. If this is your love language, the following section will help you understand yourself and better communicate with your partner. If this is your partner’s love language, the final section will help you better grasp what this love language reveals about them.


Your Love Language

If Receiving Gifts is your love language, this section will help you better understand why it’s so important to you and what to do about it. After reading it, you’ll be better equipped with how to express yourself to your partner also. They will better understand your love language after talking to you about it, and ultimately, you will develop a more satisfying romantic relationship with them.

Understanding the Language

Receiving gifts goes beyond a simple gesture of romance to you. It knocks on the door of how someone expresses their true love for you. A gift that’s well-timed or well-thought sends you into an emotional experience that can always be relived through revisiting the gift.

The gift is a tangible manifestation of their love for you. It’s something you can see and touch [or sometimes hear, smell, and taste] to remember them as they remembered you. The time and energy they spent are manifestations of how often they’re thinking about you.

To you, the value of the gift is likely to make little difference if any at all. You’re much more driven by the sentimental value of the object and the effort it took for your partner to find it. Whether it’s a cheap refrigerator magnet of something uniquely special to your personality or an expensive painting from your favorite artist, both are priceless gifts that you treasure from your partner because it shows their intimate knowledge and love of you.

Talking to Your Significant Other

What good is it to know your primary love language if you don’t teach it to be spoken? Don’t just internalize what you’ve read about it. The information above needs to be passed to your partner.

Explain to them how important it is for you to receive gifts. Speak to them about the precious gifts that they’ve already given you to cherish and how that made you feel. Be clear and direct, giving them ample opportunity to listen to your words and not just hear them. In this way, they will begin to take note of your love language.

We recommend you go as far as to tell them about the five love languages. That way, they can read about it themselves and also discover their own love language by taking the test. You both win in this scenario!

Their Love Language

If Receiving Gifts is your partner’s love language, this section will help you better understand how to display your love for them in a unique way. People show their love for others through their own love language, and that makes sense when you think about it. If you love someone, it’s only natural that you would demonstrate it through doing something that you yourself would also love. 

Like Luke 6:31 says: Do to others as you would have them do to you, right?

Yes, but that doesn’t mean that they will feel loved to the same degree that you would have if the roles were reversed. In context, that verse is actually about loving your enemies! How much more should you do to others you love romantically? You should want to understand your partner’s love language.  

Understanding the Language

This love language is the best way to demonstrate your love for your partner. But it’s not the only way they will feel loved. Don’t think this equates to always buying them a present from this point forward. Remember to still mix it up.

Nevertheless, gift-giving ensures that they will deeply feel your love for them. Gifts that commemorate landmark events (anniversaries, birthdays, etc.) are opportunities to show your partner just how well you know them. They attach an incredible amount of loving emotion to the gift you give them. They believe it’s a chance for you to show them your true love.

However, that doesn’t mean buy the most expensive thing you see; don’t let price be mistaken for value. They’re just as happy receiving something inexpensive as they are something extravagant. Both types of gifts are priceless to them because the thought goes far beyond the physical value of the object itself. 

Finding the Perfect Gift

Finding the perfect gift requires an in-depth understanding of your significant other. They respond best to gifts that demonstrate intimate knowledge of their personality and values. As long as the gift demonstrates that your time and energy was devoted to finding something special that encapsulates a piece of them or your relationship, you’re going to be successful in what you’re choosing.

If you’re just learning about this love language or if the relationship is new, it’s important to notice their response to the gift you’ve chosen for them. This isn’t always easy to gauge, but it gets easier with time. You’re looking to discover what types of gifts produce genuine and heartfelt reactions from them.

Those reactions are the sweet spot of their love language. After enough time and with enough gifts, you will come to recognize what will make their eyes light up. Eventually, no matter if you’re looking for it or not, your eyes will be trained to spot that perfect gift anywhere. At that point, time after time, the gift they’ll receive from you is the gift of true love.

Learn More: The 5 Love Languages Resource Hub